BIRTHDAY GREETINGS :A poem written by my father – around the time of my birth.

My parents parted when I was very young and I never got to know my father, although I am glad to be able to say that I have been privileged to have been brought up and nurtured by the most wonderful family and have always been (and continue to be !!) spoiled for love.

I like this poem very much, and as it was my birthday recently, I thought I would share it.

Sometimes
to tell our thanks is to whisper
In the teeth of hurricanes.

As when the mountain flower,
Simple in her wildly morning state,
Assumes false dignity
In the sculptured prism of a vase:
Or the proud beast
Cage-dragged,
Shuffles off his best majesty-
Such then am I,
When I would make but minute mention of your worth.

For in the furnace, your worth
Grows mightier than just,
And I, as wordly chanceless
As a mute.

2 Comments on “BIRTHDAY GREETINGS :A poem written by my father – around the time of my birth.”

  1. Briony Patten says:

    Hi Marc
    Thanks very much for sharing this very special poem. I think it’s beautifully written and is certainly thought-provoking.
    Nice one Marc,
    Lots of love,
    Briony
    x

  2. Aha so that’s where you got your poetic gene from!!


Leave a Reply

