Rewarded by dolphins (the song of the 39 year old). Dedicated to Ida Heywood.

rewarded by dolphins coverI recently rediscovered a booklet/pamphlet of poems collated for me by great friends at ROCC, a charity I worked for in the 1990’s. Having had a read through there are some here that I like – maybe some revisions to be made, and some, all, resonate with the past….but I fancied sharing a few of them. Hope that you will like them. And here’s to us all – past, present and future.

This poem is dedicated to the memory of a dear friend of my mum and I, the inimitable Ida. I was returning from Ireland, having spent a few days with them both, when this was written.

Rewarded by dolphins – written on my 38th birthday, on the ferry from Rosslaire to Fishguard.

 

And what does a birthday bring?

A child being sick, before we leave the harbour,

making my breakfast, somewhat uneasy!

A memory of Ireland,

old places, old faces,

ice cream and cold Guinness,

and a beach, thick with shells,

and drummed by racing horses  –

beyond the house where Jacky stayed,

after they stole her Jack away.

 

And what does a birthday bring?

Cold hands in a strong wind,

and seabirds coasting the waves.

And I’ve a new, navy colour hat.

And five, yes five dolphins breaking out of the blue,

leaping, skimming, arching

and spelling out something new to come.

 

And I?

I am rewarded by dolphins.

3 Comments on “Rewarded by dolphins (the song of the 39 year old). Dedicated to Ida Heywood.”

  1. Richard Barnett says:

    Thanks Marc – it’s a great poem. I still have my copy of the book too!

  2. helen carey says:

    Love this poem. You are so clever.

  3. stew1e says:

    Written over twenty years ago, but it has that unmistakeable Mordey ring to it!


Leave a Reply

